WAIT FOR THE LORD

 

 

 

 

 

image

Blessed are all they that wait for Him!

(Isa 30:18)

 

 

***

 

 I wait for the Lord,

my soul doth wait,

and in His Word do I hope.

 My soul waiteth for the Lord

more than they that watch for the morning:

I say,

more than they that watch for the morning!

(Psalm 130:5-6)

 

 

 

securedownload-26

 

 

We hear a great deal about waiting on God.

There is, however, another side.

When we wait on God,

He is waiting till we are ready;

When we wait for God, we are waiting till He is ready.

 A petition presented before God is like a seed dropped in the ground.

Forces above and beyond our control

must work upon it,

Till the true fruition of the answer is given.

The Still Small Voice

***

 

Rest in the LORD,

and wait patiently for Him:

fret not thyself because of him

who prospereth in his way,

because of the man

who bringeth wicked devices to pass.

(Psalm 37:7)

 

 

road-with-flowers-on-both-sides-at-sunset4

 

I longed to walk along an easy road,

And leave behind the dull routine of home,

Thinking in other fields to serve my God;

But Jesus said,

My time has not yet come.”

 

 

image

 

I longed to sow the seed in other soil,

To be unfettered in the work, and free,

To join with other laborers in their toil;

But Jesus said,

“Tis not My choice for thee.”

 

image

 

I longed to leave the desert, and be led

To work where souls were sunk in sin and shame,

That I might win them;

but the Master said,

“I have not called thee,

publish here My name.”

 

image

 

I longed to fight the battles of my King,

Lift high His standards in the thickest strife;

But my great Captain bade me wait and sing

Songs of His conquests

in my quiet life.

 

 

image

 

I longed to leave the uncongenial sphere,

Where all alone I seemed to stand and wait,

To feel I had some human helper near,

But Jesus bade me guard one lonely gate.

 

 

 

 

image

 

 

I longed to leave the round of daily toil,

Where no one seemed to understand or care;

But Jesus said,

“I choose for thee this soil,

That thou might’st raise for Me some blossoms rare.”

 

 

image

 

 

 

 

And now I have no longing but to do

At home, or else afar,

His blessed will,

To work amid the many or the few;

Thus,

“choosing not to choose,”

my heart is still.

–Selected

 

 

image

 

 

“And Patience was willing to wait.”

Pilgrim’s Progress

 

 

***

