HE BROUGHT ME INTO A LARGE PLACE

 

 

 

 

 

securedownload-94

 

 

 ~~~

~~~

 

He brought me forth also into a large place;

he delivered me;

because he delighted in me

(Psalms 18:19).

~~~

~~~

And what is this “large place”?

What can it be but God Himself,

that infinite Being in whom all other beings

and all other streams of life terminate?

God is a large place indeed.

And it was through humiliation,

through abasement,

through nothingness

that David was brought into it.

–Madame Guyon

~~~

~~~

2458-1270528509Uku7

~~~

~~~

“I bare you on eagle’s wings, and brought you unto myself” (Exod. 19:4).

 

 

~~~

~~~

image

~~~

~~~

~~~

~~~

image

~~~

~~~

Fearing to launch on “full surrender’s” tide,

I asked the Lord where would its waters glide

My little bark, “To troubled seas I dread?”

“Unto Myself,” He said.

 

 ~~~

~~~

IMAG1211

~~~

~~~

Weeping beside an open grave I stood,

In bitterness of soul I cried to God:

“Where leads this path of sorrow that I tread?”

“Unto Myself,” He said.

 

~~~

~~~

image

~~~

~~~

 

Striving for souls, I loved the work too well;

Then disappointments came; I could not tell

The reason, till He said, “I am thine all;

Unto Myself I call.”

 

 ~~~

~~~

image

~~~

~~~

Watching my heroes–those I loved the best–

I saw them fail; they could not stand the test,

Even by this the Lord, through tears not few,

Unto Himself me drew.

 

~~~

~~~

image

~~~

~~~

Unto Himself! No earthly tongue can tell

The bliss I find, since in His heart I dwell;

The things that charmed me once seem all as naught;

Unto Himself I’m brought.

–selected

 

 

image

~~~

~~~

