BLESSED ASSURANCE

 

 

 

 

1 Thessalonians 1:5

For our Gospel came unto you not in word only,

but also in power,

and in the Holy Ghost,

and in  much assurance;

as ye know what manner of men

we were among you for your sake.

~

image

~

One day, while my son Zac and I were out in the country,

climbing around in some cliffs,

I heard a voice from above me yell,

“Hey Dad! Catch me!”

I turned around to see Zac joyfully jumping off a rock straight at me.

He had jumped and then yelled “Hey Dad!”

I became an instant circus act, catching him.

We both fell to the ground.

For a moment after I caught him I could hardly talk.

When I found my voice again I gasped in exasperation:

“Zac! Can you give me one good reason why you did that?”

He responded with remarkable calmness:

“Sure…because you’re my Dad.”

His whole assurance was based in the fact that his father was trustworthy.

He could live life to the hilt because I could be trusted.

Isn’t this even more true for a Christian?

~

~

Ephesians 1:6-9

6 To the praise of the glory of his grace,

wherein he hath made us accepted in the beloved.

7 In whom we have redemption through his blood,

the forgiveness of sins,

according to the riches of his grace;

8 Wherein he hath abounded toward us in all wisdom and prudence;

9 Having made known unto us the mystery of his will,

according to his good pleasure which he hath purposed in himself:

 

 

~

