I LOVE YOU DADDY

 

 

 

image

 

~

 

 

For those who did not have a good father for any reason,

the Heavenly Father made provision for this loss.

Consider this picture of God, the Father:

Psalm 68:5 “ A Father of the fatherless …”

 

 

 

image

 

~

This is a tender description of the character of God.

He is a Father.

In all His greatness

in majesty and power

He is a Father like none other.

If you list every characteristic of a good Father

that you can think of you will,

in part,

be describing the Heavenly Father.

Yes,

He’s kind,

compassionate,

loving,

faithful and true

and much more!

He is a Father to the fatherless,

He shows

His tender mercy,

care

and protection to them.

 

 

 ~

image

 

~

  I am very thankful I had a good Dad.

He worked hard and provided

a safe and secure home for his family.

One of the earliest memories I have is

when he was a tailor’s apprentice

and made for me

a navy blue skirt

with a matching cape lined in red satin .

 I loved it!

 

 

Later, he worked in a meat packing company

as a meat cutter and a butcher until he retired.

One sweet memory I have, was that Dad got paid on Tuesdays.

He and mom would go grocery shopping  and a family tradition

was born that we would have

burgers and chips with split pea soup on Payday!

Yum!

 

 

 Dad and uncle Willie,

his only  live sibling ,

called their parents,

“Ammy, and Appy.”

 

 

For a period of time,

the meating packing company where he worked

gave the employees and their families a picnic

and rides at Elitch Gardens Amusement Park.

We looked forward to the wonderful time

we would have with all the good food and rides.

It was a festive time,

and in a designated place,

they had live music.  The musicians

dressed in German folk attire and played polkas.

 

 

~

image

~

Dad saw to it we had a well rounded childhood.

We did a lot of fun things as a family.

Living in Colorado,

we went to the mountains often.

Red Rocks Park was a family favorite.

 It was a short drive to get there

and we would have cookouts,

go exploring,

and climb the rocks.

I visited Red Rocks in recent years,

and was disappointed with the restrictions

and fences that had “no trespassing” on them

and “no climbing” of the rocks either!

One of my favorite childhood spots,

that now is restricted,

had a small stream and a cave.

 

~

image

~

Dad loved to fish and he and Mom and my brother Rich,

would go to the mountains to fish.

He liked to go to Delaney Buttes,

Lake John,

and sometimes to St. Mary’s Glacier.

Mom quit going to the glacier after a while

because of the steep climb to the lake.

Sometimes, Dad and Rich would go ice fishing

at the glacier in the winter.

It started snowing once while they were there

and  they started back to the car.

Rich told Dad,

“We’re lost!”

Dad said,

“No, we’re not lost,”

and arrived safely at the car.

 

 ~

image

~

Dad loved to talk about religion.

I must have been 10 years old or so

and we were talking about martyrs.

I reasoned the Lord

would understand if we denied Christ ,

in order  to save  our lives.

 I remember well the gist of his response.

He said in so many words,

” You never deny Christ no matter what!”

~

image

 

 

~

When it came time to buy a house,

I was very disappointed

when he bought a house that wasn’t on the ice cream man’s route,

like one neighborhood we were house hunting in.

I was in second grade and the ice cream man was important!

 

I thought Dad was too strict!

He was protective

 and we didn’t get to do a lot of things

that friends at school were doing.

How grateful I am

for the Dad I was blessed with.

I wonder how much grief

I was spared because he was  so caring.

 We weren’t denied the good things in life

but were afforded all he could provide.

 

 

He loved his family.

We were first in his life,

and he was good to each of his kids.

I had a wonderful childhood.

I love you daddy!

~

 

 

