WHAT DO YOU SEE A CRABBY OLD LADY OR ME?

Hello Family and Friends,

 

*     *     *

image

***

I read a story some years ago about an attractive young woman who did an experiment, all the details escape me, except what she did and what some her findings were.

She did an elaborate masquerade as an elderly woman.  It took some hours to be made up into this old lady.  What she found out was astounding.  When she went to buy an item as her young self, she was treated with courtesy and good will.  When she went as her elderly counterpart she found impatience and little kindness.

That is where I first read the following poem:

According to some, it was found among the “meager possessions” of an old woman who died in the geriatric ward of a Dundee, Scotland hospital, and was later published in the News Magazine of the North Ireland Association for Mental Health.

That all may be apocryphal. I can’t find any reference, except in relation to the poem, of the publication or its organization. Those who retrieved the poem did not record the woman’s name nor is there a year attached, but that is not important. This is a cry from the heart, whoever wrote it, to not be made invisible in old age.

It would do us all well to remember this poem when we are frustrated by someone old moving too slowly in front of us and when we find ourselves with an older relative or friend whose mind is perhaps not as quick as it once was.

*     *     *

What do you see, nurses, what do you see,
what are you thinking when you’re looking at me?
A crabby old woman, not very wise,
uncertain of habit, with faraway eyes.

 

***

images-29

***

Who dribbles her food and makes no reply
when you say in a loud voice, “I do wish you’d try!”
Who seems not to notice the things that you do,
and forever is losing a stocking or shoe.

 

***

images-28

***

Who, resisting or not, lets you do as you will
with bathing and feeding, the long day to fill.
Is that what you’re thinking? Is that what you see?
Then open your eyes, nurse; you’re not looking at me.

 

***

MP10005876469_P321166_500X500

 

***

 

I’ll tell you who I am as I sit here so still,
as I do at your bidding, as I eat at your will.
I’m a small child of ten with a father and mother,
brothers and sisters, who love one another.

 

***

norman-rockwell-painting-12

 

***

 

A young girl of sixteen, with wings on her feet,
dreaming that soon now a lover she’ll meet.
A bride soon at twenty – my heart gives a leap,
remembering the vows that I promised to keep.

 

***

norman-rockwell-painting-9

rockwell-marriage-license

***

At twenty-five now, I have young of my own
who need me to guide and a secure happy home.
A woman of thirty, my young now grown fast,
bound to each other with ties that should last.

 

***

Rockwell-Plymouth-1951_12_22-010

 

 

***

At forty my young sons have grown and are gone,
but my man’s beside me to see I don’t mourn.
At fifty once more babies play round my knee,
again we know children, my loved one and me.

 

***

family-grace

***

Dark days are upon me, my husband is dead;
I look at the future, I shudder with dread.
For my young are all rearing young of their own,
and I think of the years and the love that I’ve known.

 

***

13213335

***

I’m now an old woman and nature is cruel;
’tis jest to make old age look like a fool.
The body, it crumbles, grace and vigor depart,
there is now a stone where I once had a heart.

 

***

images-53

***

But inside this old carcass a young girl still dwells,
and now and again my battered heart swells.
I remember the joys, I remember the pain,
and I’m loving and living life over again

 

***

4_Ages_of_Love_Flute_Serenade_Norman_Rockwell.

***

I think of the years – all too few, gone too fast
and accept the stark fact that nothing can last.
So open your eyes, nurses, open and see,
not a crabby old woman; look closer – see ME!

 

 

***

norman-rockwell-couple

*     *     *

grandma&grandpa

*     *     *

1 Timothy 5:1-2

Rebuke not an elder,

but intreat him as a father;

and the younger men

as brethren;

 

The elder women as mothers;

the younger as sisters,

with all purity.

 ***

Thank you for stopping by and please pray for America the Beautiful.

*     *     *

