ANOTHER PERSPECTIVE ~ 1 Guest Post ~ JOURNEYING INTO THE UNKNOWN

Hello Family and Friends,

I am happy  to share this post with you from a good friend.  I have known her since she was a

child.  I know her family, and her Dad was a loving Father,  and Pastor, who definitely had an

infectious zest for life, and always a ready smile.  It’s easy to see where she inherited that

wonderful quality.

She is recently widowed, had a precious husband, a pastor, whom was her best

friend.  As Sis. R, , our missionary in the Philippines, wrote in an email

to me, “he was a true caballero.”   She was saying he was a Christian

gentleman; a man of honor.  He was that indeed!

*     *     *

*     *     *

(History of this hymn).

 Ad­e­laide A. Poll­ard, 1907. Pol­lard be­lieved the Lord want­ed her in Af­ri­ca as a mis­sion­a­ry, but she was un­a­ble to

raise funds to go. In an un­cer­tain state of mind, she at­tend­ed a pray­er meet­ing, where she heard an el­der­ly wo

­man pray, “It’s all right, Lord. It does­n’t mat­ter what You bring in­to our lives, just have Your own way with us.”

At home that night, much en­cour­aged, she wrote this hymn.  The Lord blessed her later and she was able to go to

Africa.

*     *     *

Journeying Into The Unknown

securedownload-177*     *     *

*     *     *

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” I’ve always had a zest for life, and

eager to try new things; I think most kids are eager to learn and try new things, and feel

accomplished when they have done so. It’s what pushed us to try to get on that two-wheeled

bike, or brave that skateboard; what was a scratch or two, we simply got back on. Yet as adults

“new things” can sometimes bring on trepidation, fear and uncertainty. I look at my life as a

Christian and have so many things to be thankful for, that God let me experience. I considered

it a privilege, to spend 17 years, having a part in ministry outside the U.S; they haven’t

all been easy, but looking back I could always see the hand of God  and in all His wisdom, how

He let me go through these things for a purpose.  They labored for Jesus not only in Puerto

Rico, but also in Germany and in the Philippines.

*     *     *

a_kiss

*     *     *

Proverbs 3:5,6 so aptly says, “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine

own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

*     *     *

I Peter 5:7 “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.”

*     *     *

securedownload-27

*     *     *

These and other scriptures have burned in my heart, and I ponder them often. My life has

changed course in a direction I never expected nor wanted, yet as I sit here, I cannot tell

myself this is any different than other past God-allowed events in my life’s timeline. I’m

reminded how we share with others the need to “trust in God,” “have faith,” “turn to Him,”

but when it comes down to our own life, do we put this into practice? As kids, I never

contemplated how my father was going to put food on the table, I just knew it was going to be

taken care of, there was no need to worry about it. When school came around and there were

school clothes needed, it wasn’t constantly bombarding my mind as to where they’d come

from. Why, because I had confidence my father was going to take care of it!

*     *     *

I sit at life’s crossroads, it’s a new dawn….

*     *     *

securedownload-176

*     *     *

Years ago in Puerto Rico, for a time I went through what I felt was my “Marah” experience;

reading a book, I came across a poem that for me, was life changing. It has stayed with me for

years, and I’ve read it over and over, as I’ve been reminded of my Heavenly Father and His

loving care.

I’ve many a cross to take up now,

And many left behind.

But present troubles move me not,

Nor shake my quiet mind.

And what may be tomorrow’s cross

I never seek to find.

My Father says “Leave that to me,

and keep a quiet mind.”

 -Anonymous

 

*     *     *

Paul learned that God’s grace was sufficient, and it is for me as well; if I stay in His presence,

the shackles of worry won’t bind me. Yes, this is a journey into the unknown, but it is not one

I’m walking alone, for I have my Heavenly Father gently guiding me every step of the way!

*     *     *

images-15

*     *     *

Like an old German proverb says, “The greatest step is out the door!”

securedownload-179

From my heart, to yours….

*     *     *

Thank you Sister Rameriz for sharing your beautiful  heart with us.

*     *     *

 I know she would

appreciate your prayers as she continues on this journey called L I F E.

*     *     *

Strength for What is Ahead

 

Each of us may be sure that if God sends us on stony paths He will

provide us with strong

shoes, and He will not send us out on any journey for which He does

not equip us well.

Alexander Mac Laren

*     *     *

 
