PRECIOUS IN THE SIGHT OF THE LORD IS THE DEATH OF HIS SAINTS

Greetings Dear Family and Friends,

It has been on my heart for some time to share this subject with you.  I wasn’t sure which way it would go, but the recent promotion of two of our fellow minister brethren prompted this post.  I too, want to share my tribute to those lives beautifully lived with you, along with some others.

Precious 

in the sight of the LORD

 is the death 

of his saints.

The death of a dear loved one has touched us all.  We love them and miss their companionship.  However, we can take great comfort in knowing that the great hope of the Christian is to be eternally with the Lord.  We are headed for a family reunion where we will all be together again!  Christians never say goodbye just, “We’ll see you later!”  There is an exceedingly more wonderful place than this life in which we’ll spend eternity and a great homecoming!

I once heard a blind beggar singing outside of Gate One at Clark Air Force Base in the Philippines. He was singing and strumming on his homemade instrument made of a bleach bottle with a long neck and some type of string attached to both ends.  His was singing, “Somewhere Beyond the Blue There’s a Mansion for Me.”  I was profoundly  touched.  I thought, “Yes, there is a heavenly mansion beyond this life as he certainly does not have one here.”

Jesus said:

John 14:1-3

Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in Me.

In My Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you.

I go to prepare a place for you.

 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto Myself;

that where I am, there ye may be also.

In recent weeks two wonderful men of God, both of them pastors, were promoted to their heavenly home.

My earliest recollection of Reverend Hasty was in St. Louis, in the eighties, at Holly Hills.  He and and his new bride were both in the Army and headed overseas; one to Germany and one to Korea.  My heart was moved with their situation, but they both weathered it and went to seminary following their discharge from the military.  He was in the prime of life when the call came.  I knew him to be a stalwart man of God.  He was a warm and sincere brother.  He was a wonderful pastor, husband and father.  He was “steadfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord.”

When I think of pastor Briggs, I think of a devoted pastor, husband and father.  He  loved the Lord with all his heart, and his neighbor as himself.

His heart was so open.  He wasn’t afraid to bare his soul and let you inside.  It could be disarming because he was so candid.  I can truly say I never met anyone like him.  His life was short but full.

Some may wonder why these men were taken away from us in the prime of life, leaving behind lovely devoted wives, and in the case of Reverend Briggs two children, ages 9 and 11.  The Lord only knows why He works in the manner in which He does.  The comfort we have is in knowing that “He hath done all things well” ,  Mark 7:37.

Also:

Isaiah 51:1

The righteous perisheth, and no man layeth it to heart; and merciful men are taken away,

none considering that the righteous is taken away from the evil to come.

Jesus took the sting out of death and it should hold no terror for the child of God.

I Corinthians 15:55

O death where is thy sting;

 O grave where is thy victory?

I Corinthians 15:19

To be absent from the body

is to be present with the Lord.

Many years ago I read the quote that follows and it touched me deeply.  I have thought of it many times throughout the years.

“Can this death?  Why, it’s better than living!  Tell them I die happy”

John A. Lyth

Another deathbed testimony by  Martha McCracken:

How bright the room!  How full of angels!

Death for every child of God is not the end, but only the beginning of eternal bliss:

I Corinthians 2:9

But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man,

the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him.

~

~

I am looking forward to seeing the saints I have known in this life who have preceded us to our heavenly home.  Probably the first one I knew that went to heaven was a little mite of a lady whose name was Carrie Whisnant.  She wore a small bun in the back of her head.  I was told that when she was young, her husband would threaten her with a shotgun if she went to church.  When I met her she was white headed and still going to church!  She was a small lady with a great big God!  She was a precious saint.

I am looking forward to seeing Mom and Pop Gaylord again.  Pop was my husband’s first pastor.  I dearly loved them and had the privilege of them accompanying my husband and I to the Philippines and Okinawa for the work of the Lord.  It was always a pleasure to fellowship with them.  They were such humble folk.  Mom Gaylord was extremely smart and could do a lot of things well. She sewed two tailored wool suits for herself with pleated skirts that looked as if they had been bought from Nordstrom’s. The greatest thing to me about Mom and Pop was that they loved me.

I am also wanting to see Reverend Espinoza.  He was a wonderful person.  I don’t think I ever saw him without a smile.  He loved the Lord supremely.  He bundled up his wife and 5 kids and a Saint Bernard and drove them to Bible College in a VW van in the early seventies.  The Espinoza Family are delightful and  friends of  many years; their kids and our kids grew up together; pulled pranks together; and are still friends after nearly 40 years!  When I think of Brother Espinoza I think of the love he had for his church and the love he had for his family.  He was fun and adventurous and was a pleasure to be around.  Just ask his wife and kids and the people from his church.  They have wonderful things to share  about him.

I also want to see Jun (pronounced June), short for Junior, the small Aita man who attended the Bible studies we had in the Philippines the last time we were missionaries there.  We would drive onto Clark Air Base in Angeles City, and there was a break in the fence, and a short-cut to a small Aita village called Radar.  The Aita people are, as I understand, the original Filipino natives.  They are a small dark race of people with curly hair; the poorest of the poor.

One night as we were going up the rutted path to go to our meeting  in Radar, a lady stopped us.  “Pastor,” she said, “my brother died today!”  We went into her teeny tiny house and there was Jun in his casket with the glass plate window where his face was visible.  Jun, was one of the Aita’s who attended our meetings until he had to move away with his mother because they could not afford the rent.  He was a sickly fellow with yellowish skin. I would guess him to have been in his thirties, just a young man.  The story his sister related  was interpreted to us by our faithful minister who worked along with us. His dying words, as he looked upward, were something like this, “Look!  Everyone is happy up there.  No one is hungry up there.  There is plenty of food there!”

Jun may have been sick and hungry on this earth, but his heavenly home was all he could possibly desire and more

All the saints mentioned above were ushered from this earthly arena to a heavenly one.  I feel immensely privileged to have made their acquaintance, some more intimately than others.  My life is better because their lives crossed my path.   The devil didn’t take them, Jesus has the keys of death.

Revelation 1:18

I am He that liveth, and was dead;

and,

behold,

I am alive for evermore,

Amen;

and have the keys of hell and of death.

The Lord called them home.   It was the goal of their life to go and be with the Lord.  They made it!  The Lord received them into His presence.  How about us?

Philippians 1:21

For me to live is Christ,

and to die is gain.

The Lord calls everyone to give them the greatest gift of eternal Life!  Never say “no” to Jesus.  He loves you  supremely!

Thank you for stopping by.

 

