MEMORIES FROM THE CALL TO THE MISSION FIELD – PHILIPPINES

***

When I went to Bible College, I took with me a desire to be a missionary to Mexico.   Let me tell you about it.  Before I ever knew about a Bible College in St. Louis, a friend and I met a Mexican lady and she told us about her Christian family in Mexico and extended an invitation to us to visit them.  Well, we didn’t know any better and went.  Imagine women driving to Mexico in a new Monte Carlo (fire engine red with a black vinyl top)!  We called it our mission trip, and learned some  extremely valuable lessons.  One lesson, zeal alone is not enough!  Another lesson, don’t run without being sent !   Thank God for Bible College on Forest Ave.!  I am truly thankful for the precious times we had at Forest Ave.  It has a very special place in my heart.  The Lord did many great things for me there in preparation for the ministry.  I am glad to have been a part of that time.  I am also extremely grateful that my husband and I were in the first graduation, Fishers of Men, in 1975.

Fast forward about 7  years.  We were in a conference at Forest Ave. in St. Louis.  My husband was preaching and shared how that the Lord had  spoken to his heart about the Philippines.  He told  how that there were prayers that Reverend Barnes and Pastor Davis had prayed that He was yet going to answer.    (Reverend Barnes was a dear friend of Pastor Davis’, and were at one point fellow missionaries in the Philippines.  He died in the Philippines as the result of a bus accident while he was going about His Father’s business.)  When he said that, I knew in my heart that we would be going to the Philippines.  Of course I was thrilled, right?  Well, not exactly.  There were bridges I had to cross in my heart to get to the place where I was willing to go.  It went beyond the new house and new furniture we had.  It went beyond the two cars we had.  It even went beyond the successful work we were doing for the Lord.

Would you say the call of God is first and foremost?

Preachers’ wives, and all Christians must have their own personal relationship with the Lord.  The scripture says to make your calling and election sure.  When you know that you know, that you know, that you KNOW,  the Lord has called you to a certain place, that knowledge will keep you through the times of trial and testing.  Sure, everyone isn’t called to the mission field or to the preaching ministry.  But everyone is called to be a witness.  There is a work for every Christian to do.  Even if it is talking to our neighbor, a friend, or co-worker about the Lord.

I have found that when I take time to write down in my journal the things that stand out to me from my morning Bible reading and devotions these same things stay with me throughout the rest of the day.  I also like to read good books, devotional writings or inspirational stories about the Lord or the work of the Lord.  I read some months ago about Mary Slessor who was a missionary to Africa.  She went places other missionaries were afraid to go, and accomplished great things for the Lord.  Her biography is easily found online to read.  I love Google and have found some real treasures that christians have placed there to be freely read.  Have you ever read about Susannah Wesley, or Adoniram Judson, missionary to Burma?  What about George Mueller?  He had a devoted wife that was his soulmate that lived the life of faith along with him.  Have you read Rosalind Goforth’s excellent  book, (also available on line), How I Know God Answers Prayer?  So what does this have to do with the call of God?  Everything! How so?  I must have my own relationship with the Lord if I go to the Philippines, or if I stay in America.  I have to keep myself encouraged.   I don’t want to be a weight or a millstone around my husband’s neck.  He has enough to deal with.  Let me share this with you.  One time many years ago I was going through a dark time in my life and I was telling my husband about it.  Do you know what he told me?  He said, “don’t tell me about it, tell it to Jesus.”  Well, thanks a lot right?  That didn’t mean he didn’t care, or was heartless, but he was telling me in those words, “I can only help you so much by being a listening ear, or by praying for you, ultimately it takes God to intervene in your situation.”

Bless you Family and Friends, more about the Philippines later.  This song is truly a blessing!  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

